Recycle Bin is a folder where deleted files or folders are temporarily stored. Recycle Bin has been available in every version of Microsoft Windows since Windows 95.
You can easily recover accidentally deleted files or folders from Recycling Bin.
When you delete a file or folder in Windows, it is placed in the Recycle Bin. Deleted items are kept in the temporary Recycle Bin until users delete them permanently.
Sometimes the Recycle Bin is referred to as Trash, Trashcan, or Garbage. As computer users, using the Recycle Bin system is a very common task. It’s important to know about this if you want to manage files effectively.
The purpose of this guide is to explain how to use the Recycle Bin to review, restore and permanently delete your files. Apart from this, in this tutorial, we will learn about some special settings of Recycle Bin.
Uses of Recycle Bin
The Recycle Bin is a place that temporarily stores deleted objects in Windows until they are permanently deleted. It helps users to restore deleted files from Windows in Windows operating system.
Unless a user permanently deletes the files, the files will not be permanently removed from the hard drive; All deleted files or folders will be saved in a recycled bin. In addition, the Recycle Bin lets you retrieve all the files stored there to their original storage location. You cannot directly access the file in the recycling bin; You must first restore the files to use them. It is available in all versions of Windows since Windows 95.
Where is the Recycle Bin?
The ecycle Bin can be accessed in two different ways. Along with this, you can also access Recycle Bin from Windows Explorer. In Windows 7 and above, you can access it by typing C:\$Recycle.Bin in the Explorer address bar.
A Recycle Bin folder is created for each partition on your computer, which is used to store the files you want to delete in that partition only. Thankfully, when you use the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop, it displays all the files you’ve deleted from each drive in a list so you don’t have to keep track of where they got deleted. Were.
How long do deleted items stay in the Recycle Bin?
When a file or folder is deleted, it remains in the Recycle Bin until you empty the Recycle Bin.
Is the Recycle Bin a software program?
No. The Recycle Bin is a special feature of Windows that you can think of as a folder on the computer that stores a deleted file or folder.
How to delete files and folders?
To delete a file or folder, select it and then press the Delete button on your keyboard.
In another way, you can right-click on it and select the Delete option.
In Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, the file is deleted immediately without a confirmation message.
However, in Windows 7, a pop-up appears asking you if you really want to delete the file. When you click Yes, it will go to the Recycle Bin. You can cancel this action by clicking No.
If you select and delete multiple files at once.
How to bypass Recycle Bin in Windows?
If you’re absolutely certain that you want to delete a file, you can select that file or files and press the Shift + Delete keys on your keyboard to completely bypass the Recycle Bin.
How to view and manage the contents of the Recycle Bin?
When you open the Recycle Bin, you see a list of all the files and folders that you have deleted.
If you want detailed information about a file that you have deleted, you can open its contextual menu by right-clicking on it.
How to Restore Files from Recycle Bin?
If you want to retrieve a file from the Recycle Bin, you can do so in two different ways.
The first way is to use the restore function built into the Recycle Bin. Select the files you want to restore and then click on the Restore the selected items button in the top bar of the Recycle Bin window or right-click on them and select Restore.